member sign in / register

Onestopsurf is now providing it's news directly to customers using RSS (Really Simple Syndication).

  Add to My Yahoo!
 What is RSS?
Terms and conditions

We encourage the use of Onestopsurf RSS feeds for personal use in a news reader or as part of a non-commercial web site or blog. Whenever Onestopsurf content is posted on your website, we require a credit such as "News headlines from", a link back to, and we reserve the right to require that you cease distributing Onestopsurf content.

Enter your email address to receive our monthly newsletter


News provided by ASP World Tour on 11 July 2006

With a huge swell expected to arrive by the end of this week, organisers of the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay are excited by the fact that the best surfers in the world could be battling it out for one of surfing’s most coveted prizes in excellent double overhead-sized waves.

The waiting period for the event – one of the longest running and most prestigious events on the Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour – begins tomorrow, Wednesday July 12.

Swell forecasters are indicating that the swell could even begin to rise by tomorrow and there is every chance that the famed walls of “J-Bay” will be of a sufficient standard to allow a start to the Von Zipper Trials at around 8am local time.

“We’re looking at conditions that should be in the chest to head high range tomorrow, with larger head high plus sets possible,” said “At this point, well-overhead waves should be expected by late Friday afternoon/evening.”

The Von Zipper Trials consists of three 25-minute heats and will showcase some of South Africa’s and the world’s best rising stars. The three heat winners will go on to join the sport’s elite top 45 in the 48-man total draw and will be placed into the three heats containing the top three seeds including Kelly Slater (USA), Andy Irons (HAW) and Damien Hobgood (USA).

In an interesting twist, 2000 Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour champion Sunny Garcia (HAW) has accepted an invite to return to come out of retirement and return to competition.

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Round One:
Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs Troy Brooks (AUS) vs Davey Weare (ZAF)
Heat 2: CJ Hobgood (USA) vs Paulo Moura (BRA) vs Jarrad Howse (AUS)
Heat 3: Bruce Irons (HAW) vs Darren O’Rafferty (AUS) vs Toby Martin (AUS)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs Trent Munro (AUS) vs Pedro Henrique (BRA)
Heat 5: Taylor Knox (USA) vs Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 6: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs Mark Occhilupo (AUS) vs Yuri Sodre (BRA)
Heat 7: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs Luke Stedman (AUS) vs Sunny Garcia (HAW)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) vs Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs wildcard
Heat 9: Andy Irons (HAW) vs Danny Wills (AUS) vs wildcard
Heat 10: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs Fred Patacchia (HAW) vs wildcard
Heat 11: Tim Reyes (USA) vs Jake Paterson (AUS) vs Peterson Rosa (BRA)
Heat 12: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs Nathan Hedge (AUS) vs Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 13: Cory Lopez (USA) vs Chris Ward (USA) vs Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 14: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs Mick Lowe (AUS) vs Marcelo Nunes (BRA)
Heat 15: Phil Macdonald (AUS) vs Pancho Sullivan (HAW) vs Victor Ribas (BRA)
Heat 16: Shaun Cansdell (AUS) vs Travis Logie (ZAF) vs Adriano de Souza (BRA)


Advertise With Us | Suggest A Site | About Us | Contact Us | Link To Us | Sitemap | Jobs

© Copyright Onestopsurf 2002-2006. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy Terms of Use