member sign in / register

Onestopsurf is now providing it's news directly to customers using RSS (Really Simple Syndication).

  Add to My Yahoo!
 What is RSS?
Terms and conditions

We encourage the use of Onestopsurf RSS feeds for personal use in a news reader or as part of a non-commercial web site or blog. Whenever Onestopsurf content is posted on your website, we require a credit such as "News headlines from", a link back to, and we reserve the right to require that you cease distributing Onestopsurf content.

Enter your email address to receive our monthly newsletter


News provided by ASP World Tour on 12 July 2006

With only meagre waves lapping in at Jeffreys Bay, South Africa today, organisers of the Billabong Pro have elected to call a lay day for the main event.

There is however the possibility that the trials could kick off if the swell jumps up in the latter stages of the morning.

“It looks like it could come up today but at this stage there will be no main event,” said contest director Mike Parsons. “There is a remote possibility that we could run the trials today but it is highly unlikely. We are just taking it day by day and we don’t want to get too far ahead of ourselves. There is good swell predicted on the horizon however.”

Regarding the heat draw for the Billabong Pro Jefffreys Bay, which is the sixth event on the 11 stop Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour, Parsons was convinced that the best lineup of surfers of the year were raring to go in front of him.

“We have possibly the best lineup of surfers of the year so far,” said Parsons. “With all but one of the top 45 in the world making themselves available for the event we should see some excellent action when the event gets underway.”

Only Adrian Buchan (AUS) is absent from the top 45 draw due to injury and his place will be taken by 2000 Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour Champion, Sunny Garcia (ZAF).

Organisers will assess conditions at first light every morning.

All the action can be viewed on the LIVE webcast via or

Complete TV news feed information, athlete quotes, audio downloads and heat-by-heat updates can be located in the Media Centre on the above sites.

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Round One:

Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs Troy Brooks (AUS) vs Davey Weare (ZAF)
Heat 2: CJ Hobgood (USA) vs Paulo Moura (BRA) vs Jarrad Howse (AUS)
Heat 3: Bruce Irons (HAW) vs Darren O’Rafferty (AUS) vs Toby Martin (AUS)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs Trent Munro (AUS) vs Pedro Henrique (BRA)
Heat 5: Taylor Knox (USA) vs Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 6: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs Mark Occhilupo (AUS) vs Yuri Sodre (BRA)
Heat 7: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs Luke Stedman (AUS) vs Sunny Garcia (HAW)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) vs Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs wildcard
Heat 9: Andy Irons (HAW) vs Danny Wills (AUS) vs wildcard
Heat 10: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs Fred Patacchia (HAW) vs wildcard
Heat 11: Tim Reyes (USA) vs Jake Paterson (AUS) vs Peterson Rosa (BRA)
Heat 12: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs Nathan Hedge (AUS) vs Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 13: Cory Lopez (USA) vs Chris Ward (USA) vs Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 14: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs Mick Lowe (AUS) vs Marcelo Nunes (BRA)
Heat 15: Phil Macdonald (AUS) vs Pancho Sullivan (HAW) vs Victor Ribas (BRA)
Heat 16: Shaun Cansdell (AUS) vs Travis Logie (ZAF) vs Adriano de Souza (BRA)


Advertise With Us | Suggest A Site | About Us | Contact Us | Link To Us | Sitemap | Jobs

© Copyright Onestopsurf 2002-2006. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy Terms of Use