Advertise with us | Suggest a site | sign in / register

Onestopsurf is now providing it's news directly to customers using RSS (Really Simple Syndication).

  Add to My Yahoo!
 What is RSS?
Terms and conditions

We encourage the use of Onestopsurf RSS feeds for personal use in a news reader or as part of a non-commercial web site or blog. Whenever Onestopsurf content is posted on your website, we require a credit such as "News headlines from", a link back to, and we reserve the right to require that you cease distributing Onestopsurf content.

Enter your email address to receive our monthly newsletter


News provided by ASP World Tour on 30 October 2006

IMBITUBA, Brazil – Round One of the Nova Schin Festival presented by Billabong will commence in Imbituba, Brazil at 9:30 this morning.

Two to four foot (half to one and a half metre) waves will present the world’s best surfers with ample opportunity to add progressive aerial surfing to their respective repertoires today.

Newly crowned eight-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) is one of five Foster’s ASP World Tour surfers who will not compete in the Nova Schin Festival. Slater is expected to arrive in Brazil later this week, but he will not surf the main event.

Mark Occhilupo (AUS) and Pancho Sullivan (HAW) have also opted out of their Brazilian berths, both surfers indicating that impending childbirths would hinder their involvement in the Nova Schin Festival. Withdrawing due to injury are Australian Daniel Wills (ankle) and American Tim Reyes (knee).

Filling their spots will be Brazilian alternates Jihad Khodr, Odirlei Coutinho, Pedro Norberto, Bernardo Miranda and Leonardo Neves. The Nova Schin Festival wildcards are Renato Galvao (BRA), Neco Padaratz (BRA) and Jean da Silva (BRA).

Thirteen of today’s 16 heats will feature a Brazilian surfer.

Round 1 Nova Schin Festival presented by Billabong Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Phil Macdonald (AUS); Nathan Hedge (AUS); Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 2: Taylor Knox (USA); Chris Ward (USA); Yuri Sodre (BRA)
Heat 3: Dean Morrison (AUS); Jake Patterson (AUS); Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 4: Tom Whitaker (AUS) Michael Lowe (AUS); Odirlei Coutinho (BRA)
Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA); Luke Stedman (AUS); Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 6: Damien Hobgood (USA); Victor Ribas (BRA); Bernardo Miranda (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS); Greg Emslie (ZAF); Renato Galvao (BRA)
Heat 8: Andy Irons (HAW); Travis Logie (ZAF); Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS); Frederick Pattachia (HAW); Pedro Norberto (BRA)
Heat 10: Mick Fanning (AUS); Adriano de Souza (BRA); Jean da Silva (BRA)
Heat 11: Bruce Irons (HAW); Peterson Rosa (BRA); Toby Martin (AUS)
Heat 12: Bede Durbidge (AUS); Darren O’Rafferty (AUS); David Weare (ZAF)
Heat 13: Cory Lopez (USA); Paulo Moura (BRA); Pedro Henrique (BRA)
Heat 14: C.J. Hobgood (USA); Troy Brooks (AUS); Jarrad Howse (AUS)
Heat 15: Shaun Cansdell (AUS); Marcelo Nunes (BRA); Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 16: Trent Munro (AUS); Roy Powers (USA); Raoni Monteiro (BRA)


Advertise With Us | Suggest A Site | About Us | Contact Us | Link To Us | Sitemap | Jobs

© Copyright Onestopsurf 2002-2008. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy Terms of Use