Advertise with us | Suggest a site | sign in / register

Onestopsurf is now providing it's news directly to customers using RSS (Really Simple Syndication).

  Add to My Yahoo!
 What is RSS?
Terms and conditions

We encourage the use of Onestopsurf RSS feeds for personal use in a news reader or as part of a non-commercial web site or blog. Whenever Onestopsurf content is posted on your website, we require a credit such as "News headlines from", a link back to, and we reserve the right to require that you cease distributing Onestopsurf content.

Enter your email address to receive our monthly newsletter


News provided by ASP World Tour on 29 October 2006

IMBITUBA, Brazil – Newly crowned eight-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) is one of five Foster’s ASP World Tour surfers surrendering their spots in the Nova Schin Festival presented by Billabong. The main event waiting period for this, the 10th of 11 stops on the Foster’s ASP World Tour, starts tomorrow, October 30, 2006.

Slater, who earned his eighth ASP World Title in Mundaka earlier this month, was a last minute withdrawal from main event competition, but has hinted that he may make his way to Imbituba, Brazil to surf in the Foster’s Expression Session and make good on his assorted media responsibilities.

His mother’s upcoming wedding is one of several personal obligations Slater’s recent title win has freed him to attend.

This marks the second 2006 tour event Slater will miss; the first being Fiji which he bowed out of due to a rib injury. Citing Slater’s affinity for the last location on the ’06 Tour calendar, Hawaii’s Banzai Pipeline, it’s widely expected that fans have not seen the last of the eight-time world champ this year.

Mark Occhilupo (AUS) and Pancho Sullivan (HAW) have also opted out of their Brazilian berths, both surfers indicating that impending childbirths would hinder their involvement in the Nova Schin Festival. Withdrawing due to injury are Australian Daniel Wills (ankle) and American Tim Reyes (knee).

Filling their spots will be Brazilian alternates Jihad Khodr, Odirlei Coutinho, Pedro Norberto, Bernardo Miranda and Leonardo Neves. In addition to the alternates, Nova Schin Festival wildcards Renato Galvao (BRA), Neco Padaratz (BRA) and Jean da Silva (BRA) will join Brazil’s eight Foster’s ASP World Tour regulars to bring the home country’s Nova Schin Festival contingent to 16 – making Brazilians one-third of the field.

Fourteen of the 16 Round 1 heats will feature at least one Brazilian surfer. Accustomed to the small and peaky beach break conditions, the local contingent could cause a few upsets in Imbituba.

Round 1 Nova Schin Festival presented by Billabong Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Phil Macdonald (AUS); Nathan Hedge (AUS); Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 2: Taylor Knox (USA); Chris Ward (USA); Yuri Sodre (BRA)
Heat 3: Dean Morrison (AUS); Jake Patterson (AUS); Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 4: Tom Whitaker (AUS) Michael Lowe (AUS); Odirlei Coutinho (BRA)
Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA); Luke Stedman (AUS); Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 6: Damien Hobgood (USA); Victor Ribas (BRA); Bernardo Miranda (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS); Greg Emslie (ZAF); Renato Galvao (BRA)
Heat 8: Andy Irons (HAW); Travis Logie (ZAF); Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS); Frederick Pattachia (HAW); Pedro Norberto (BRA)
Heat 10: Mick Fanning (AUS); Adriano de Souza (BRA); Jean da Silva (BRA)
Heat 11: Bruce Irons (HAW); Peterson Rosa (BRA); Toby Martin (AUS)
Heat 12: Bede Durbidge (AUS); Darren O’Rafferty (AUS); David Weare (ZAF)
Heat 13: Cory Lopez (USA); Paulo Moura (BRA); Pedro Henrique (BRA)
Heat 14: C.J. Hobgood (USA); Troy Brooks (AUS); Jarrad Howse (AUS)
Heat 15: Shaun Cansdell (AUS); Marcelo Nunes (BRA); Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 16: Trent Munro (AUS); Roy Powers (USA); Raoni Monteiro (BRA)


Advertise With Us | Suggest A Site | About Us | Contact Us | Link To Us | Sitemap | Jobs

© Copyright Onestopsurf 2002-2008. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy Terms of Use