member sign in / register

Onestopsurf is now providing it's news directly to customers using RSS (Really Simple Syndication).

  Add to My Yahoo!
 What is RSS?
Terms and conditions

We encourage the use of Onestopsurf RSS feeds for personal use in a news reader or as part of a non-commercial web site or blog. Whenever Onestopsurf content is posted on your website, we require a credit such as "News headlines from", a link back to, and we reserve the right to require that you cease distributing Onestopsurf content.

Enter your email address to receive our monthly newsletter


News provided by ASP World Tour on 4 June 2006

Sydney, Australia will host its first women’s standalone world championship surfing event in 10 years when the inaugural Beachley Surf Classic, the sixth of eight events on the 2006 ASP Women’s World Tour, takes to Manly Beach in October.

The tournament, founded by six-time world champion and current world number two Layne Beachley (AUS), is the richest in the 29-year history of the women’s professional tour. The event will be held at Beachley’s home break.

Sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), the event will feature the world’s top 17 ranked female surfers plus a wildcard surfer and offer a USD$100,000 prize-purse.

“I am really thrilled that we will be competing for the richest prize purse in women’s surfing history at my home break,” said Beachley.

“This event will bring an ASP Women’s World Tour event back to a spot it belongs – Sydney.”

The Beachley Surf Classic, which will run from 9 October to 15 October, has been made possible courtesy of additional funding from the New South Wales state government.

“We are incredibly excited that the NSW Government has come on board to support and to make happen this very important and timely tournament,” said Beachley.

“NSW is in the forefront of women’s surfing and the sport is enjoying unprecedented growth and popularity here and across the world – from youngsters to the young at heart.”

Manly Beach will serve as the event’s headquarters, but will have the option to travel to beaches as far north as Narrabeen depending on wave conditions.

“The Classic will showcase the best surfers on the planet, inspire enthusiasts everywhere, generate international exposure and have a major bearing on the 2006 world title race,” said Beachley.

Reigning world champion Chelsea Georgeson (AUS) and current ratings leader Melanie Redman-Carr (AUS) will head a field of contenders hailing from the USA, Brazil, Hawaii, Peru, South Africa and Australia.

Former world champions Pam Burridge (AUS) and Pauline Menczer (AUS) are expected to compete in a 12-woman trials event that will determine the winner of a wildcard berth into the main event.



Main Event Competitors
-The Top 17 ranked women surfers in the world.
-Nine from Australia: Chelsea Georgeson, Layne Beachley, Melanie Redman-Carr, Samantha Cornish, Claire Bevilacqua, Trudy Todd, Jessi Miley-Dyer, Rebecca Woods, Serena Brooke.
-Four from USA/Hawaii: Julia Christian, Rochelle Ballard, Keala Kennelly, Megan Abubo.
-Two from Brazil: Silvana Lima, Jacqueline Silva
-One from Peru: Sofia Mulanovich
-One from South Africa: Heather Clark

Trials Competitors
-The winner of the 12-person trials event will earn the lone wildcard spot into the main event.
-The 12 trialists will be drawn from Australia, Japan, South Africa, France, USA, New Zealand
-The 1990 ASP World Champion and six-time title runner-up Pam Burridge of Manly, will be among the competitors, as will 1993 world champion and 18-year tour veteran Pauline Menczer (AUS).


-The richest women’s surfing event ever – the event offers a US$100,000 – the largest purse ever in the 29-year history of the women’s professional tour.
-The sixth ASP Women’s World Championship tournament of the 2006 season
-Sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professionals.
-The first standalone women’s world title event in New South Wales, Australia in 10 years.
-One of only two ASP Women’s World Tour events held in Australia in 2006.


-Manly Beach, Sydney
-Competition venues to range from Fairy Bower to North Steyne to Queenscliff. The event can go to beaches further north, depending on wave conditions.


-Monday 9 October to Sunday 15 October, 2006


-A Trials of 12 surfers across four rounds to determine the winner of the Wildcard berth.
-Main event consists of six rounds involving 18 competitors, cascading to a Final featuring the last two competitors.

Advertise With Us | Suggest A Site | About Us | Contact Us | Link To Us | Sitemap | Jobs

© Copyright Onestopsurf 2002-2006. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy Terms of Use