Advertise with us | Suggest a site | sign in / register

Onestopsurf is now providing it's news directly to customers using RSS (Really Simple Syndication).

  Add to My Yahoo!
 What is RSS?
Terms and conditions

We encourage the use of Onestopsurf RSS feeds for personal use in a news reader or as part of a non-commercial web site or blog. Whenever Onestopsurf content is posted on your website, we require a credit such as "News headlines from", a link back to, and we reserve the right to require that you cease distributing Onestopsurf content.

Enter your email address to receive our monthly newsletter


News provided by ASP World Tour on 30 December 2005

North Narrabeen, Sydney will be the focus of the sporting world over the New Year with 48 of the world’s top under 20 male surfers and 18 top under 20 female surfers contesting the $US60,000 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Billabong World Junior Championships from tomorrow.

While sweating in sweltering heat, organisers are hopeful that the swell will rise to the occasion and enable the start of the Von Zipper Trials event tomorrow morning.

Narrabeen, located 40 minutes north of Sydney’s famous Harbour Bridge, is a world-class wave that operates on minimal swell, offering up the preferable long left to right breaking wave as well as a quality right hand breaking wave. It is a high-performance venue and spectators can expect some incredible showdowns once the starting gun is fired.

The Billabong World Junior Championships is the world’s most prestigious junior contest and in past has given rise to some of the sports biggest names. These include three-time Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour champion Andy Irons (HAW) and former world number two Joel Parkinson (AUS).

Brazilians have been a dominant force at the Billabong World Juniors in recent years with Pablo Paulino (BRA) claiming victory this time last year while Adriana De Souza claimed a win in 2003. De Souza just recently qualified for the 2006 Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour. Another Brazilian in Pedro Henrique took the trophy back in 2000. He too has now qualified to surf against the ASP’s finest next year.

The incredibly cabable field this year includes Australian dynamos Ben Dunn and Yaden Nichol, American whiz kids Alex Gray and Tanner Gudauskas, European world beaters Jeremy Flores and Michel Bourez, Hawaiian chargers Dustin Cuizon and T J Barron, South African excitement machines Jordy Smith and Damien Farenfort, Japanese shredder Tanaka Hideyoshi and of course the Brazilian maestro of the junior ranks, reigning champion Pablo Paulini – to name a few.

The girls division will be headed up by Steph Gilmore (AUS), Jesse Miley Dyer (AUS) and Hawaiian Carissa Moore.

For the full draw head to or

Billabong and ASP will be hosting a full webcast of the event with live scores and updates.

Advertise With Us | Suggest A Site | About Us | Contact Us | Link To Us | Sitemap | Jobs

© Copyright Onestopsurf 2002-2008. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy Terms of Use