Advertise with us | Suggest a site | sign in / register

Onestopsurf is now providing it's news directly to customers using RSS (Really Simple Syndication).

  Add to My Yahoo!
 What is RSS?
Terms and conditions

We encourage the use of Onestopsurf RSS feeds for personal use in a news reader or as part of a non-commercial web site or blog. Whenever Onestopsurf content is posted on your website, we require a credit such as "News headlines from", a link back to, and we reserve the right to require that you cease distributing Onestopsurf content.

Enter your email address to receive our monthly newsletter


News provided by ASP World Tour on 8 October 2005

Round three of the Rip Curl Malibu Pro is underway in pumping three to five foot (one to one-half meter) waves this morning. The first two rounds of competition were held in similar conditions yesterday with two surfers bowing out in the second round – an injured Rochelle Ballard (HAW) and an unlucky Laurina McGrath (AUS).

Sixteen World Champion Tour (WCT) surfers remain in contention this morning, but only one woman will win today. While fans the world over will enjoy four more rounds of action at the Rip Curl Malibu Pro today, the first big ticket draw at Malibu Point will be heat four of round three this morning. In that heat, world champ and world number one Sofia Mulanovich (PER) will meet her ’05 nemesis in event wildcard Stephanie Gilmore (AUS).

Gilmore, the uber-talented 17-year-old wildcard who has surfed through the trials and into the main event of four WCT events this year, has nothing to lose as she’s not a rated WCT surfer. But Mulanovich, who is chasing her second world title, must advance if she wants to keep her best friend, world number two, Chelsea Georgeson (AUS) at bay.

Defending champion Megan Abubo (HAW) and six times world champion Layne Beachley (AUS) were also in top form yesterday and will be anxious to earn an event win this year. Both have made a final and come up short on this year’s Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) tour.

This event is critical to the world title race and next year’s WCT qualification so don’t miss a second of it! Logon to the webcast at and to watch the whole thing live!

Heat 1: Megan Abubo (HAW) vs. Heather Clark (ZAF)
Heat 2: Keala Kennelly (HAW) vs. Serena Brooke (AUS)
Heat 3: Rebecca Woods (AUS) vs. Samantha Cornish (AUS)
Heat 4: Sofia Mulanovich (PER) vs. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
Heat 5: Chelsea Georgeson (AUS) vs. Melanie Bartels (HAW)
Heat 6: Jacqueline Silva (BRA) vs. Trudy Todd (AUS)
Heat 7: Melanie Redman-Carr (AUS) vs. Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)
Heat 8: Layne Beachley (AUS) vs. Maria Tita Tavares (BRA)

Advertise With Us | Suggest A Site | About Us | Contact Us | Link To Us | Sitemap | Jobs

© Copyright Onestopsurf 2002-2009. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy Terms of Use